Below is a letter that one of my students wrote in class as a midterm break from formal essay writing. I have only lightly edited the composition so as to keep the original flavor.


Dear Father,

            It’s the first time and maybe the last chance for me to write a letter to you in English. You said you missed the opportunity to learn English well during the Cultural Revolution, which stopped you from further study in college, but I’ll be delighted if you can recognize just a few words like “father” and “love” when you receive this letter.

            It’s said that fathers want their sons to be what they feel they cannot themselves be. I’m sure you can’t agree more with that. I remember that when I was a child, you’d like to tell me your experiences of your childhood.  Grandpa passed away so early that Grandma struggled to raise you up.  When you reached the age for schooling, the Cultural Revolution started, which broke most Chinese students’ dreams about universities, including yours.

            Now I understand that you’re glad for me, that I with the new generation can encounter this god-given time to boom our ambitions in China, yet there are regrets in your mind for the era you lived in. I’m lucky to be accepted by BFSU after being brought up in a rural village. I can observe that you and Mom are gratified even though you never betray your true feelings. So I’m endeavoring to live a rich and colorful life here to accomplish what I dream of and what you expect.

            I love my friends here. I love the library here. I love sitting on the campus reading books. Most importantly, I love you and Mom living peacefully in our hometown. I will be pleased if you can read this letter to Mom.

            Your son, Kaiming. 
  




Leave a Reply.